Thursday, December 17, 2015

Season 3 Details

The much anticipated season three premiere of Bringing Up Bates is only three weeks away!

“With 19 kids, three grandchildren, a multitude of incredible personalities, and never ending love, there’s a lot going on in this fun and loving family,” said Amy Winter, general manager and executive vice president of UP.  “We have a season full of heartwarming and relatable moments from a household where each and every individual is special and celebrated. Bringing Up Bates offers a unique blend of heart and humor.  It’s no wonder viewers have fallen in love with the Bates family.”

The first of thirteen new episodes of Bringing Up Bates airs at 9pm ET/8pm CT on Thursday, January 7th, exclusively on UP.

Starting at 9am ET/8am CT on New Year's Eve, a Bringing Up Bates marathon will continue into 2016, with a one-hour special, "Best Bates Moments," airing at 8pm ET/7pm CT and 11pm ET/10pm CT.

Are you excited? Here is an extended written preview of season three, courtesy of UP:

The new season picks up with a bevy of excitement and a bit of a scare, as the entire family prepares for Michaella and Brandon’s charming rustic wedding in Knoxville, Tennessee. From choosing Michaella's dream wedding gown, to getting in shape to look their best on the big day, to attempted pranks and a bachelor outing that goes awry, the family joins together to make this special time eventful and memorable.

When the big day finally arrives, viewers will get a front-row seat at the huge but warm wedding with over 800 guests, including some very special friends that share in the beautiful ceremony. With laughter and tears, it’s a bittersweet moment for the entire family, knowing that they must say goodbye to Michaella as she leaves the family nest and moves to her new home in Chicago.

With such a big family filled with talented, precocious, and uniquely different children and married couples – all sharing a close, loving bond – there’s bound to be more big excitement. Accomplished pianist Erin prepares for a trip to Nashville to promote her music career, and country gospel music singer Lawson continues to pursue his dream with a big performance. 

Eldest son Zach takes the next step in his law enforcement career as he completes a rigorous training program and graduates from the Police Academy. He and his wife Whitney plan for the first birthday of their son Bradley, the Bates’ first grandchild. 

There’s also vacation time, as the family packs up for a fun-filled, trip to sunny Florida. As always, there is organized chaos, as mother Kelly Jo navigates all of the homeschooling and various chores for the family, while dealing with individual opinions and bigger-than-life personalities of the ever-expanding group. Doting father Gil prepares both his heart and his wallet for all of the new challenges and changes.

Photo courtesy of UP


  1. I can hardly wait for me to start!!!!!

  2. I can't watch it cuz I don't have UP. Is there any way to watch it for free?

    1. Hi Jmartz7,

      Seasons 1 and 2 have recently been uploaded to iTunes, and season 1 is on Amazon. We will let you all know when season 3 becomes available online. Some of the episodes are uploaded to YouTube but are usually taken down soon after.

      Lily and Ellie

    2. Hey if you want to watch for free, then go to Watch Series, the put "bringing up bates" in the search engine, and watch all you want!!!!

  3. I am looking forward to the new season,

  4. So excited!!!!

  5. Love this family!!! They are so down to earth and are true east tennesseans. Can't wait to see the new season coming soon.

  6. Can wait for the new season. It comes on a day before my birthday.